Undertaking Blogging

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog since last spring, when I became aware of the amazing community of educators blogging about their experiences.  I’m not entirely sure what I expect to get out of blogging, so this post is mostly an effort to clarify the reasons that I want to start.

There’s a conversation going on, and I want to be part of it.  There are times when I wonder whether I have anything valuable to say.  But I my hope is that the act of trying to create something of value, will bring value.  Right now, I’m spending far too much time just thinking inside my own little head, and spinning my wheels without changing some of the things that I really want to change.

I do worry whether I’m going to be able to put in the sustained effort of keeping up a worthwhile blog.  I think I can, I think I should, and I think it will make me a better teacher.  During the processes of deciding whether to undertake this effort, I came across this post by Will Richardson:

I’m attempting to synthesize a lot of disparate ideas from a variety of sources into a few coherent sentences that I can publish for an audience and wait (hope?) for its response to push my thinking further.

That does sound desirable.

And while I was still vacillating, I came across this old post from Kate Nowak, who

I always had a hard time with reflective practice as a private exercise. I was told it was important, but it wasn’t rewarding in a way that led me to pursue it regularly. All my writing landed with a dull thud.

I could have written that myself about reflective writing in general.

So now I’m approaching reflective practice as a public exercise.  It’s a little terrifying.  A little exhilarating.  Wish me luck.

3 thoughts on “Undertaking Blogging

  1. Mylène says:

    Congrats on the new blog. Hope you’ll go ahead and write what’s on your mind, without worrying about whether it’s worthwhile — you’d be surprised what people find helpful. Just clarifying your questions can be worthwhile… and then if someone answers them, so much the better. Good luck!

    • Thanks Mylène! I’m excited to have you as my first blog-comment. Your posts about teaching technical reading have inspired me to spend some class time talking about how to read a math book. I’m currently reading “I Read It But I Don’t Get It” and trying to figure out which strategies to use, and how to present them in a math-text-focused way.

  2. Whitecorp says:

    From your virgin post you seem to have a penchant for articulating your thoughts rather well, I would love to hang around and read your stuff. Good Luck. Peace.

Leave a Reply

