Problem proposals are hard to write.

I spent Tuesday and Wednesday writing a proposal to participate in a two-week Technology Integration Workshop given by my university.  The idea is, you pick an issue you want to work on, and they coach you on instructional design, provide mini workshops on specific technologies, and mentor you through your project design.

I wrote my proposal on wanting a more robust and authentic assessment tool, and briefly mentioned my previous incarnation of the blog project.  They wanted the proposal to be written on a problem, not a potential solution, which makes sense– they don’t want you to come into the workshop committed to doing one specific thing, because deciding on solutions is part of it–but that made it very hard to write. I had already planned on revamping my blog project for the fall semester, and it would be great to get some help and feedback doing that, but if the workshop takes me in a different direction, that would be great too.  (And bonus: there’s a stipend for completing the workshop, which would even leave me a little something after childcare!)

Fingers crossed-- wish me luck!

Fingers crossed by Terriko, via Flickr

I really hope my proposal gets accepted, but I wasn’t really satisfied with what I submitted.  Some of that may be my usual battle with toxic perfectionism, but really it felt super-weird to write a proposal of a problem.  I could have detailed all of the things that I wanted to correct about how the blog project went the first time– there’s tons of stuff I could have written about that.  But I felt like that would paint me as not being open to other solutions to my dissatisfaction with traditional assessments, and I definitely want to keep an open mind about that.

Keeping fingers crossed!

(Oh, and how awesome is it that Texas State not only holds these workshops, but gives a stipend for participating in it?  I love it here.  Now, if only the math department could get it’s scheduling act together, it would be the perfect place to work.)

Leave a Reply

